Are you resisting CHANGE?

There’s an old saying, “As Florida goes, so goes the Nation.”  Well, right now Floridians are staring down the second highest foreclosure rate in the country (after California) and a stubborn “official” 10.7% unemployment rate.  Florida has said goodbye to more than 16,000 government workers in just the last year and that’s just one of our state’s biggest employers!  In the headlines this week we’ve learned hundreds of new jobs are coming to the Sunshine State and the Bay Area but they can’t come quickly enough.  Here’s more on when and where you’ll find these jobs that‘ll pay $50,000 to $120,000!:

http://www.myfoxtampabay.com/dpp/news/local/hillsborough/time-warner-to-bring-500-jobs-to-bay-area-09202011

http://www.tampabay.com/news/localgovernment/article1192788.ece

Human beings naturally resist change.  It’s scary.  It’s uncomfortable.  Unfortunately we don’t have choice but to “go with the flow“ right now.  And something like a job loss almost certainly leads to major change.  It might be a lower paying job in your future.  It might be a job out of state.  It could be the inability to pay your mortgage because you can‘t find work.  You have a lot on your plate if you’re unemployed.  It’s taken me a couple of slow months just to get three interviews and I‘m hearing the same thing from my fellow job-seekers!  But even the friends I have who still have their jobs are struggling to pay their bills.  The days of having ONE source of income may be gone and that doesn’t seem “safe” to me anymore.

I’ve been asked in my job interviews “what is it that you want to do?”  Right now, I want to do it all: Radio, TV, Video, Writing, Marketing, and Social Media!  I’m willing to try new things and put my energy and abilities into a number of areas.  It’s exciting, really.  My next interview is about a week away and it’s with a company that is having an open casting call but asked me to come in before the open call for an interview and I‘m thrilled!  I’d be happy with one or ALL of these jobs.  I’m ready to GO so let’s see an offer!  Unfortunately, employers aren’t in as big of a hurry to hire as most of us are to work.

Accepting the fact that things have changed is the first step I’ve taken to understand that we all have to look at things differently and create a new plan.  That plan will probably include things you never thought you’d do or have to do.  And frankly, I don’t want to go back to the way things were.  Been there, done that.  Dwelling on the fact that things aren’t the way they used to be will hold us all back.  However, I’ve made a plan should the day come when I can’t pay the bills.  Stressing about it now won’t do me or anyone else any good.  The mantra that’s keeping me going right now: Accept Change.  Make a plan.  Move forward.  Oh, and Winston Churchill was smart guy who said, “Never, never, never, never give up.”

Keep the faith!

Corey Dylan

Leave a comment